Back in March, I was approached to contribute to a then-upcoming anthology project to evaluate an early access version of the GPT-4 large language model, and write a short essay about my experiences. Our prompt was to focus on two core questions:

  • How might this technology and its successors contribute to human flourishing?
  • How might we as society best guide the technology to achieve maximal benefits for humanity?

The anthology is now in the process of being rolled out, with twelve of the twenty essays, including mine, public at this time of writing.

As an experiment, I also asked GPT-4 itself to contribute an essay to the anthology from the same prompts (and playing the role of a research mathematician), then I gave it my own essay (which I wrote independently) and asked it both to rewrite its own essay in the style of my own, or to copyedit my essay into what it deemed to be a better form. I recorded the results of those experiments here; the output was reasonably well written and on topic, but not exceptional in content.